Skip to content

I’m Henry VIII, I am, I am.

February 6, 2017

The Katherine of Aragon Festival

Peterborough Cathedral, 27-29 January 2017

Hen16252474_10154908379471904_788030782686637915_oricus Rex, The eighth of that name since the Conquest in 1066. By Grace of God Kynge of Englande, Wales, France and Lord of Irelonde, Fide Defensor.

And so it came to pass that on the 7th January 1536, Katherine of Aragon, the Queen of England and first wife of Henry VIII, died at Kimbolton castle, having been exiled from Court since 1525. when Henry became infatuated with a Lady-In- Waiting, Anne Boleyn.

To the end, Kathryn still claimed to be England’s true and rightful Queen. Upon her death bed she wrote to Henry-
     My most dear lord, king and husband.

The hour of my death now drawing on, the tender love I owe you forceth me, my case being such, to commend myself to you, and to put you in remembrance with a few words of the health and safeguard of your soul which you ought to prefer before all worldly matters, and before the care and pampering of your body, for the which you have cast me into many calamities and yourself into many troubles.

For my part, I pardon you everything, and I wish to devoutly pray God that He will pardon you also. For the rest, I commend unto you our daughter Mary, beseeching you to be a good father unto her, as I have heretofore desired. I entreat you also, on behalf of my maids, to give them marriage portions, which is not much, they being but three. For all my other servants I solicit the wages due them, and a year more, lest they be unprovided for.

Lastly, I make this vow, that mine eyes desire you above all things.
Katharine the Quene.

Katherine was buried quietly and quickly in Peterborough Cathedral so as to avoid bringing her body back to London where she was much favoured by the people above Anne Boleyn.

Henry did not allow their daughter, Princess Mary, to attend the funeral.

16300202_1287699031277760_1021721059776902328_o

Henry, Katheryn & Anne lurking behind.

Our role at the Festival was to give four Royal audiences each day.  These were well received, by children and adults alike,  in the New Visitor Centre in the Cathedral precincts. As well as pertinent topics of our reign and situation, we also discussed and showed off Tudor fashions, food, sports, and the King’s Great matter.

This is typical of the service that BKH offers- well researched, high quality, Interpretation and delivered in both 1st and 3rd person manner. Grateful thanks to Izabela [KOA], Molly [AB], Stuart for the booking , and Lucas for the pics.

Further reading can be found here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catherine_of_Aragon

Prior Attire

Timelight Photography

The Festival 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

